Sunday, 7 February 2016

TBR February 2016

Hello everyone it has been a while!, I haven't been blogging as you can see or reading actually, for over a year now, in 2015 I only read 4 books!, 4 books!!, my goal was 50, but I only read four, I was just in such a slump and I was never in the mood to read anything. I feel like it was all because of the pressure i pot on myself to read, I tried so hard to force myself to read and to get into a few different books but it just didn't work and I got sick of it and took a long break. This month though I am going to set a small goal for myself and read only two books and hopefully the slump will go away because it's definitely not welcome here, and hopefully I will read more than two books this month but since it's been a while I'll just make a small goal of two books.

The books I plan on reading in February are:

Title: Throne of glass
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Published: August 2nd 2012
Pages: 404


Synopsis: In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king's champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass--and it's there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena's fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world. 


Title: The sky is everywhere
Author: Jandy Nelson
Published: March 9th 2010
Pages: 277

Synopsis: Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life - and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.



So we'll see at the end of the month if I met my goal, I do hope I'll finish both of them and if I don't I hope I atleast finish one.

Until next time!
Nevena.

Sunday, 30 August 2015

Faking it by Cora Carmack

Book title: Faking it
Author: Cora Carmack
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Published: June 4th 2013.

Synopsis: Mackenzie “Max” Miller has a problem. Her parents have arrived in town for a surprise visit, and if they see her dyed hair, tattoos, and piercings, they just might disown her. Even worse, they’re expecting to meet a nice, wholesome boyfriend, not a guy named Mace who has a neck tattoo and plays in a band. All her lies are about to come crashing down around her, but then she meets Cade.

Cade moved to Philadelphia to act and to leave his problems behind in Texas. So far though, he’s kept the problems and had very little opportunity to take the stage. When Max approaches him in a coffee shop with a crazy request to pretend to be her boyfriend, he agrees to play the part. But when Cade plays the role a little too well, they’re forced to keep the ruse going. And the more they fake the relationship, the more real it begins to feel.


Review: I really enjoyed this book, much more than the first one, I connected more with the characters and enjoyed their storylines more, I just wish the ending wasn't so rushed I wanted to read a little more atleast.

Cade and Max are definitely one of my new favourite New Adult couples. I am so used to reading bad boy, good girl books, that this was a breath of fresh air, I wish there were more books like these, because I would definitely want to read more about characters like Max, all other girls in New Adult are basically angelic and it gets tiring to read many different books with different storylines but the same innocent female characters.

I would definitely recommend this book to people who were interested in it.

Stars: I give this book 4.5 out of 5

Tuesday, 28 April 2015

Lick (Stage Dive #1) by Kylie Scott book review

Book Title: Lick
Author: Kylie Scott
Series: Stage Dive #1
Genres: New Adult/Adult, Contemporary
Published:
October 11th 2013 by St. Martin's Griffin

Synopsis:
Waking up in Vegas was never meant to be like this.

Evelyn Thomas's plans for celebrating her twenty-first birthday in Las Vegas were big. Huge. But she sure never meant to wake up on the bathroom floor with a hangover to rival the black plague, a very attractive half-naked tattooed man in her room, and a diamond on her finger large enough to scare King Kong. Now if she could just remember how it all happened.

One thing is certain, being married to one of the hottest rock stars on the planet is sure to be a wild ride.


Review: Before I start my review I just wanted to say that I have been in a huge slump, it's the end of April right now and I've only read 3 books (that is shockingly low for me, last year during April I had read over 30 books or somewhere around 30). I tried so many times to get out of it, but nothing worked.

One night I was so bored I decided to look up books and just pick something and try to finish it, and I found the Lick by Kylie Scott and I just got sucked into the book, it was funny, sexy and just everything I was looking for in a book at that time, I just couldn't put it down so I read the whole series in 2 or 3 days (there are 4 books in this series), this series got me out of my slump and for that I am really grateful.

I loved the characters, the plot line, the romance, and just about everything in this book (there were parts that were a bit cheesy I guess but it's totally fine).

If you are looking for something funny and sexy to read I really recommend this book and this series.

Stars: I give this book 4.5 stars out of 5.

Wednesday, 14 January 2015

Norway, December 2014


It snowed A LOT this December in Norway and I freaking loved it, I took so many photos while it was snowing my phone was really wet and thankfully it didn't get ruined. The best part about this trip was seeing my family, my dogs and going skiing, and since I had a lot of fun I wanted to show you guys some pictures (well, not of my family because I don't feel comfortable with that).

The day we went skiing (I went with my mom only since my step-dad just got home from work and he was too tired to go). It snowed a lot, if you look close at this picture you can see the snow, it was crazy, it never snowed this much any other times I've gone skiing, but the snow didn't bother me at all, I had my goggles on, had my hat and my scarf so I was good to go!, my mom on the other hand didn't think she needed the goggles so she didn't bring hers and she had to squint her eyes while she was going down the slopes hahaha (and I didn't give her mine because I wanted to teach her a lesson (am I a bad daughter ? lol).
This was probably my favourite day from the trip, we stayed a long time even after basically everyone left we still kept skiing, If I could have I would have skied all night!

The hardest part was leaving these two cuties (also my mom, we both cried at the airport hahah). Even looking at pictures of them makes me tear up because I miss them so much, I can't wait for summer til I can hopefully see them again.

That was my trip to Norway this December, I hope you enjoyed this post, I might do more blog posts like these while I am in Iceland (and yes I am back in Iceland, I came back on January 6th).

I moved to Iceland last year for school ( I also lived here for 10 years before I moved to Norway), and I will be here til June.

Thursday, 1 January 2015

My New Year Resolutions

1. Drink more water
2. Read more
3. Do more stuff that makes you happy
4. Save up money to buy a Real Madrid jersey lmao
5. Exercise more.
6. Stop eating so much junk food.
7. Run more.
8. Blog more.
9. Spend more time with friends.
10. Go out more.
11. Everyday say one thing that you like about yourself.
12. Eat healthier
13. Write more
14. Study harder.
15. Don't give up on learning Spanish.

Happy New Year!!

Happy new year!!
Sretna nova godina!!
Gleðilegt nýtt ár!!
Feliz Año Nuevo (Hopefully I wrote that right haha).

I wish you all the Success and happiness in 2015, I hope this is the year that all your dreams come true, and that you find what you are looking for if you are lost like me.

I spent my New years with my two dogs here in Norway, it was great and chill, I didn't need anything more, I get too overwhelmed when I go out and when I am around too many people, so just being with my dogs was great. 

How was your New years ?, Did you do anything fun  ?.

Thursday, 30 October 2014

Feature and Follow Friday #2, I am a Featured Blog!!

The Feature & Follow is hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee of Parajunkee’s View and Alison of Alison Can Read

I am so excited that this Friday my blog will be featured!, The other blog that is being featured this week is A thousand words, A million books. So make sure to check her blog out if you haven't already.

This week's question is:
Q: What books would you give to newbies in your favorite genre? (Ex. I'm a newbie to high fantasy and EVERYONE said to ease into it with the Throne of Glass series!) - Suggested by Take Me Away...

A: I am going to choose Young Adult, and Paranormal, since a lot of my favorite series and trilogies are from those two genre's.

1. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. ~ I can't say it enough, I love this series, it is my favorite series ever, and I have read it over 6 times and haven't gotten sick of it and I know I never will. If we have talked and you've asked me to recommend you a book, this series would be the first series I would recommend (unless you are looking for a different genre).

2. Shatter me trilogy by Tahereh Mafi ~ I read this trilogy this year and I got to say that I already want to read it again!, I loved it that much, the only flaw I feel it has is that there is basically no or very little world building, but the storyline, is awesome, the way that Tahereh writes is just amazing. The characters are unforgettable, especially Warner (back off, he's mine lmao).

3. Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout ~ I haven't finished this series and so far I've read 3 out of the 5 books, but I know that when I finish this series it will still be in my favorites, it's so freaking good.

4. Mara Dyer trilogy by Michelle Hodkin ~ So creepy and awesome, it's a perfect read for fall! (The third and last book will come out in November, if they don't push the date back again haha).

I prefer both GFC and Bloglovin' so whichever you choose to follow me with is fine with me (you can also follow on both if you want hahah)